The Orphanage

The Orphanage

An absolutely heartbreaking and unputdownable historical fiction page-turner

Lizzie Page

$3.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

What an emotional read!At parts I found myself shouting “no”. At others I just criedAbsolutely loved it.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Shilling Grange Orphanage, England, 1948.She was their only hope. Now they are hers. A gritty, heartbreaking and unforgettable story of love and hope in the darkest of times.

Clara Newton is the new Housemother of Shilling Grange Orphanage. Many of the children have been bombed out of their homes and left without families, their lives torn apart by the war, just like Clara’s. Devastated by the loss of her fiancé, a brave American pilot, she is just looking for a place to start again.

But the orphans are in desperate need of her help. Funds are short, children cry out in the night, and tearful Rita tells Clara terrible stories about the nuns who previously ran Shilling Grange. Clara cannot bear to see them suffer, but what does she know about how to look after eight little ones?

Clara can’t get anything right, and then she accidentally ruins Rita’s only memento of her mother. Overwhelmed, she wonders if they’d be better off without her. But she’s not completely alone. Living next door is Ivor: ex-Shilling Grange resident, war hero, and handyman with deep brown eyes. He doesn’t trust Clara and she is fiercely independent, but he has a way with the children. And with his support and the help of other locals, Clara begins to find her way.

As she heals from her grief and adjusts to her new life, Clara wonders if she has finally found her home and family among the orphans. Can she find the strength to fight for them when nobody else will?And dare she open her heart to love again?

A heart-wrenching and totally gripping read. Fans of Before We Were Yours, Diney Costeloeand The Orphan Sisters won’t be able to put this book down.

Readers absolutely love The Orphanage:


My heart is full!Oh, I adored this book so much!… There were moments of pure joy and the book left me feeling upliftedand with a full heart.’ Motherhood for Slackers ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Exceptionalhits you for sixI am over the moon… brilliantly written and you fall in love… a feel good book that will make you cryoh my word I loved this.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow… this book is outstanding… I couldn't put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I took to all the children with all my heart, such an emotional tale… full of love, compassion and humour… a truly remarkable touching story.’ Goodreads reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Absolutely loved thisI could hardly bear to finish it..…


Author

Lizzie Page:
Lizzie Page is the pseudonym of Sam Lierens, a mum of three, who (for some reason) got a puppy this year. Sam has lived and worked in Paris, Tokyo and London and loves combining her love of history with fiction.

Info

Reviews