The Rainbow

The Rainbow

Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction based on a true story

Carly Schabowski

$3.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

‘Oh my gosh I don’t know where to start, this book broke me… it will stay with me for a very long time... heartbreaking, poignant, gripping and compelling, I felt every emotion… I read this book in one sitting.’ Fiction Vixen Reads, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Inspired by an incredible true story. Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, We Were the Lucky Ones and The Choice will love this heartbreaking novel of love, betrayal and a secret passed down through a family.

Nazi-occupied Poland, 1940. When soldiers drag Tomasz back to his family’s farm, they put a gun to his head and tell him he must join the German army, or see his loved ones forced into the camps. Staring into the wide blue eyes of his childhood sweetheart Zofia, Tomasz does the only thing he can. Over the course of the war, he will risk his life, love and the respect of his own people, to secretly fight for good against evil. All the while, he longs to be reunited with Zofia… but will his brave choices tear them apart forever?

London, present day.Isla has grown up wearing her grandfather’s rainbow scarf, a beloved memento from the Second World War, and hearing his stories about his time as a young soldier bravely fighting the Germans to protect his people. But as she is collecting photos for his 95th birthday celebration, she finds an old photograph of two men standing in Nazi uniforms, next to a folded piece of paper… a newspaper article, written in German. She knows that name.

Her grandfather is too weak to answer questions, so Isla begins her hunt for the truth.

There is so much she doesn’t know. And what she learns about a love story and a secret from seventy years ago will change her own life forever…

Readers absolutely love The Rainbow:

Wow!! Just wow!!… This book is brilliant! More than brilliant, amazing!!! Absolutely gripping, addictive and captivating I was absolutely hooked from the first page to the last. Everybody should put The Rainbow on their reading list for 2021!!’ NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Phenomenal… it is truly a must-read. I enjoyed this book from beginning to end, it is an amazing, unputdownable must-read. I wish I could give it more than five stars.’ Page Turners, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Will rip your heart out… It has heartache, pain, loss, joy, and sorrow. It’s a great WWII historical fiction… heartbreaking.’ Books Read By Prairie Girl

Beautiful, heartfelt book! It’s seriously the best book I've read all month! The writing was brilliant. Captivating… Simply heart-breakingI loved everything about this book! So beautifully done!’ @oh.happy…


Author

Carly Schabowski:
Carly Schabowski worked as a journalist in both North Cyprus and Australia before returning to Oxford, where she studied for an MA and then a PhD in creative writing at Oxford Brookes University. Carly now teaches at Oxford Brookes University as an associate lecturer in Creative Writing for first and second-year English literature students.

Info

Reviews